Back to normal.

Well it’s Monday morning and our short holiday seems long gone.

I really enjoyed the break as i had some time to myself and could stop and take time to think about my life and what I want to achieve.

I have always worked done something but after getting very sick last year 2011 and spending it in either bed or at the doctors or having weekly bloodtest I have worked hard in 2012 to get my life back.

It’s still a long road to be 100% but at the moment I’m feel like I’m at about 70%. So this why I have been on this journey to simply my life, go back to basics homemaking.

I follow lots of blogs so i can read about the struggles and achievements of others which I find very encouraging. Try new ideas they share. Some work, some just a mess.

This year in November I turn 45 I’ve been married 24 years and have two fabulous boys who I want to enjoy this world we live in.

We don’t have much but we have each other. We rent as housing is so expensive at least we have a roof over our heads. We are on a small block so we have the chickens and I’m trying to find a sunny spot for a veggie garden. Plus Lily our dog.

These things make me happy.

Today’s blog has gone a bit differently as I was going to share some photos from our holiday I might do that tomorrow but I do want to share some cooking and recipes from last night.

I have learnt that it’s so much easier to bake than jump in the car and buy a packet of biscuits and the boys love them.

This is whats in the boys lunch boxes this morning.

Milk Chocolate Chip

Makes about 30

what you need

125g butter, softened
½ cup brown sugar
⅓ cup caster sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1½ cups self raising flour
¾ cup Milk Chocolate Baking Chips

1. CREAM together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Whisk in egg and vanilla. Stir in flour then fold through Chocolate Chips.

20120730-102938.jpg

2. PLACE teaspoonsful on greased baking trays. Bake in a moderately slow oven 160°C for 10-15 minutes or until cooked. Cool on a wire rack.

20120730-103045.jpg

Chewy Anzac Biscuits

Makes about 24

Ingredients
1 cup (150g) plain flour
1 cup (90g) rolled oats
1 cup (85g) desiccated coconut
3/4 cup (155g) brown sugar
125g butter
2 tbs golden syrup
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 tbs water

Method
Preheat the oven to 160°C. Line two baking trays with non-stick baking paper. Sift the flour into a large bowl. Stir in the oats, coconut and brown sugar.
Put the butter, golden syrup and 2 tbs water in a small saucepan. Stir over a medium heat until melted. Stir in the bicarbonate of soda.
Pour the butter mixture into the flour mixture and stir until combined.

20120730-103324.jpg

Roll level tablespoons of mixture into balls. Place on the trays, about 5cm apart.
Press with a fork to flatten slightly. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.
Set aside on the trays for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack so it cools completely.

20120730-103418.jpg

20120730-103700.jpg

What’s in your child’s lunch box today?

Until tomorrow
Sam xx

One comment

Leave a Reply

