Simple living is painful

What I got up to today.

Well I’m still sick so was going to stay in bed for the day but as the sun was out did some washing and ran of washing powder.

A few months back I made my own as per Rhonda’s instruction at Down to Earth and so I needed to make more which is what I started today.

20120820-190441.jpg

The photo is what happens when you grate soap to fast, so now I have added a bit more of me than required.

Here are the details of what I made

CONCENTRATED LAUNDRY POWDER
4 cups grated laundry or homemade soap or soap flakes (Lux)
2 cups borax
2 cups washing soda
Mix all the ingredients thoroughly and store in a plastic container with a lid. Use 2 tablespoons per wash. Again, this powder will not make suds and again, this is perfectly okay.

If you are like me and like nice smelling clothes I add a drop of tea tree or lavender oil in the softener dispenser.

If you need something a bit heavier try

HEAVY DUTY WASHING POWDER
For use on worker’s greasy or dirty overalls, football and sports uniforms or fabric that has food spills.
2 cups grated Napisan soap
2 cups grated laundry or homemade soap
2 cups borax
2 cups washing soda
Mix all the ingredients thoroughly and store in a plastic container with a lid. Use two tablespoons per wash. The powder will not make suds.

For a very heavily stained load of washing or tradesperson’s clothes, if you have a top loader turn the machine off when the powder is completely dissolved. In a front loader, operate the machine to dissolve the powder and then stop the machine for an hour to soak the clothes. Leave to soak for an hour, or overnight, and then turn the machine on and continue washing as normal.

This is a photo of my end result.

20120820-193353.jpg

I wash everyday sometimes twice so I think it will last approx 2 months and cost me $6 to make which is approx 10 cents a day (one wash a day) plus I know exactly what chemicals I’m washing in and going thought my washing machine, do you?

I hope you give this a try.

Until next time

Sam xx🐔

Leave a Reply

