Homemade jam

Well what a weekend we. We went away with some beautiful people and had an amazing time.

On the way home I stopped at a local farm and bought some fruit & veg.

I was glad to be able to support a local farmer I will be going back.

They had big red strawberries just what I was looking for so I could make some more jam today.

It only takes 1.25hrs in the bread maker so I made some this morning.

It’s really easy. You could use any citrus fruit and make jam. I had some leftover oranges and made jam last week with them.

Strawberry Jam

2 cups Strawberries cut in pieces
2 tsp lemon juice
1 cup of sugar
1 tbsp pectin ( I use fowlers vacola Jam Setta)

Pop in all into the bread tin in the bread maker and select the program as per your BM manual.

My jars are some recycled ones that I had in the cupboard. I filled with water and popped in the microwave for 5mins to sterile them. Also don’t forget the lids I poured boiling hot water in a bowl and soaked for 5mins.

Pour cooked fruit when finished into the jars and let cool. It will thicken when cooled and pop in the fridge over night.

Yum enjoy.

20120917-092627.jpg

20120917-092638.jpg

20120917-092649.jpg

20120917-092702.jpg

One thought on “Homemade jam

  1. Hi, I tried to leave a comment earlier, but was unsuccessful, so I am trying again.;-)

    I have a breadmaker and I noticed in the manual that it is possible to make jam in them. I hadn’t heard of anyone doing so until your post. I am inspired to go forth and make some with all the beautiful fruits coming into season now!

Leave a Reply

