Sour dough

Good morning

Yesterday I spent the day working at home. Trying to get upto day with my housework and do some cooking.

I’ve been trying my hand at sour dough bread but find most of them when cooked are very hard/tough to eat. I like something a wee bit soft. So I googled and found a blog that I have fallen in love with. It’s Home Joy. It’s written by Gina and this is what she says about herself. – I am a Mennonite mom who loves serving the Lord, my husband, and dear children (ages 8,6,5, and 3). I enjoy homemaking in all it’s many facets including cooking from scratch, gardening, stretching our grocery dollars, and searching for treasures at used books sales! I still have much to learn and value your input!

Gina shares many recipes made with a sour dough starter and this is the one I made yesterday.

20121120-074106.jpg

Soft Sourdough Bread

2 cups active starter (19 oz)
1 cup milk (8 oz)
1/2 cup water (4 oz)
1/4 cup oil or melted butter (1.5 oz)
1/4 cup honey (3.5 oz)
2 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (12.5 oz)*
3 cup white flour (13.5 oz.)*
3 tsp salt

* I added 5 cups of white plain flour instead

Mix all ingredients except salt for 2-3 minutes. Allow the dough to rest for about 20 minutes.

After rest, add salt and knead dough for about five minutes. If dough is too sticky, add slightly more flour but dough should be soft and not dry and stiff. Place in oiled bowl and allow dough to rise for 3-4 hours or until nearly doubled in size.

Divide dough into two pieces and shape into loaves and place in two greased bread pans. If a free form loaf is desired, place on greased baking sheet. Spray with oil and cover with plastic wrap to keep from drying out. Allow to rise for 2-3 hours.

When dough has risen, slash the top of the loaf. If baking a free form loaf, you can use the roasting pan method for added humidity while baking.

Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes. For even browning, turn loaves halfway through baking time.

The taste is not over bearing which is nice and it’s soft to cut. I sliced up one of the loaves and popped into the freezer.

The only thing about making this bread is the time. While it sat and raised I did other things around the house like making homemade pear pie.

20121120-074605.jpg

Enjoy
Until next time, take care

Sam xx

One thought on “Sour dough

  1. Thanks so much for sharing the link to my blog. I’m glad that you were able to use the sourdough recipe! It is fun to see other’s recipes!
    Blessings,
    Gina

Leave a Reply

