Bargain time

Who doesn’t like a saving.

My husband and I are so bad. We don’t really like paying full price if we can.

I had to pop into Wollies today to get some rubbish bags and cash out and instead came home with 5 bags of food. All marked down. I needed to buy meat anyway.

20130913-100837.jpg
I normally don’t buy from the large supermarket as I like to support local business but this was to good a bargain to miss.

What I got was

2 x Oz T bone steak normally $6.08 paid $2.98each
2 x Gourmet Chicken cheese & garlic sausages normally $ 5.68 paid $3.98each
2 x Quick cook Italian meatballs normally $5.99 paid $4.19each
2 x Chicken kebab satay normally $8.29 paid $5.80each
2 x Gourmet Chicken mango & chilli sausages normally $5.68 paid $3.98each
1 x Whole chicken split tandoori normally $ 8.23 paid $5.76
2 x organic beef mince 500g normally $8.23 paid $5.82each
2 x turkey sausages normally $3.39 paid $2.37each
1 x bag of Greek salad normally $5.50 paid $2.75

Most of the meat had a use by date of the 14 or 15 September and as I freeze everything didn’t matter.

I also picked up some cat littler for the rabbit marked down normally $14.30 paid $8.58
It was marked down as the bag had been ripped.

Now the savings.
If I had paid full price it would of cost me $ 114.65 drum roll… I paid only $75.23 saving of $39.42.

It’s all about knowing when your local supermarket does their marked downs.

We know all milk, cheese, etc from that section at Wollies is marked down around 7-7.30am in the morning. (I’ve been even in my PJ’s and hat on as my hair is mess in the mornings – I think the lady is starting to know what we like)

I even freeze milk and cream when marked down.

Bread and fruit &veg is in the late afternoon around 6ish. I buy up and freeze it.

So do you try and look for the mark downs?

Let me know what you have saved on lately and where……

Until next time
Sam

One comment

Leave a Reply

