Homemade washing powder.

I’ve had a few friends ask me about my washing powder. When I tell them about some of the simply changes I’ve been doing they laugh. But when I explain what’s in washing powder you buy and how much you can save making it yourself then they ask how?

So here goes.
Into a large sealable container add the following-
1 box of lux flakes*
1 packet of borax
1 packet of washing soda
* you can grate one box of home brand sunlight soap. Just watch your knuckles

You can stop there if you want this will wash well.

I also add the following
1 packet of Vanish/nappysan
1 packet of Purex Crystals (I used to add a drop or two of essential oils into the top but find doing this now easier)

Cost is approx $15

20131007-154014.jpg

This how much I use for a full load 7kg machine

20131007-154759.jpg

20131007-154859.jpg

20131007-154911.jpg

As you can see it make a lot. I won’t to make or buy any washing powder for months.

If you make some let me know what you think.

God Bless
Sam xx

3 thoughts on “Homemade washing powder.

  1. I’m going to start making some of my own products soon also… and have some recipes sorted out, just need a bit extra cash to make the initial purchases that will save us loads of money in the long run.

Leave a Reply

